My goals for HNGi8

My goals for HNGi8

ยท

3 min read

Hi there ๐Ÿ‘‹, I'm Job Oaikhenah, otherwise, called Joblyn. I'm a self-taught front-end web developer, proficient in several front-end technologies including HTML, CSS, JavaScript, ReactJs, as well as code versioning tool Git and GitHub.

Since I started to learn to code and took an interest in the frontend stack back in 2019, I've heard a lot about the HNG/Zuri internship and the great career benefits that come with being a finalist in the program. This savoured my interest in it and I wanted to be a part of it. When I heard the registration for cohort 8 in 2021 was open, I jumped right on it and went ahead to register for the front-end track. The internship program started in August and is scheduled to span for 8 - 12 weeks. It comprises 10 stages, each containing a task for participants to work on according to their chosen track. Successful participants advance to the next stage, and so it goes up to the 10th stage where the remaining participants are referred to as finalists and are each awarded an HNG T-shirt.

The HNG/Zuri internship program offers great opportunities and opens a doorway to a successful career in the field of software development, whichever stack one decides to focus on. I'm proud to be a participant of cohort 8 (i8) and I look forward to becoming a finalist.

Here are some of the goals I look forward to achieving through the internship program;

  • Make it to stage 10 and become a finalist โœŒ๏ธ
  • Network and work with great minds on amazing projects
  • Gain new skills and become a better developer
  • Get a well-paying job as a frontend developer

This article is actually a task for stage 1 of the program, but it also represents my willingness to be dedicated and committed to the program and ensure I make it to stage 10 and gain the most out of the program.

If you're interested in tech and looking to get started in the frontend stack, here are some references to beginner-friendly tutorials I found helpful, that might also be of help to you as well.

Design tools such as FIGMA is also necessary as you'll be heavily interacting with designs to produce a friendly and accessible user interface.

Also, you can learn more about the HNG/Zuri internship here, you might be interested in joining the next set, cohort 9 (HNGi9).

Thanks for reading my very first article on hash node! If you enjoyed it as much as I did writing it, do click the 'like' button, comment (be nice ๐Ÿ˜Š), and share with someone who'll enjoy reading as well.

You can connect with me on Twitter and LinkedIn.